BISG Welcomes New Board Members

Posted By: Brooke Horn Announcements, Leadership,

At its annual meeting on April 12, 2024, members of BISG elected three new members to serve two-year terms on its board of directors. These new directors will start their terms on July 1, 2024. Two current members of the board were elected for second terms. These individuals will serve terms until July 2026. 

BISG welcomes the following new members to the board of directors: 

BISG would like to welcome the following returning members to the board of directors:

BISG's board is made up of fourteen seats representing six segments of the book industry supply chain: publishers, manufacturers, distributors, retailers, libraries, and industry partners. Terms are two years in length, renewable once. Previously, a board with almost three dozen at-large seats governed BISG. The current structure was adopted by the BISG board and ratified by membership in 2017, with an eye toward greater agility and more engagement across the different segments that represent the book industry.

Welcoming the new and returning members is BISG's chair, Joshua Tallent (Firebrand Technologies), who was elected to a two-year term in this role at BISG's annual meeting in 2023. Joshua succeeded Kathleen Reid, formerly with Elsevier, who led the board from 2021 to 2023.

The BISG board oversees the work of BISG’s staff, its five standing committees, and numerous working groups, ensuring effective mid- and long-term planning. The board also reviews the organization’s financial performance to keep BISG on-track and capable of delivering on its mission. A full list of current board members is maintained on the BISG website, along with a copy of the BISG bylaws and board-endorsed policies.