BISG Announces Industry Award Honorees for 2024

Posted By: Brooke Horn Announcements,

The Book Industry Study Group (BISG) will recognize Phil Ollila, Chief Commercial and Content Officer of Ingram Content Group Inc.; award-winning author Walter Mosley; and digital retailer Scribd with industry awards at its Annual Meeting in New York, taking place on April 12, 2024, at the Harvard Club of New York.

Phil Ollila

Phil Ollila will receive the Sally Dedecker Award for Lifetime Service. Established in 2013 and named for one of BISG’s longtime volunteers and advocates, the award recognizes an individual who has made a positive impact on the book publishing industry. Throughout his career, first at the Borders Group, and then at the Ingram Content Group (where he is celebrating his 20th anniversary), Phil has earned a reputation for serving the industry as a trusted partner known for his willingness to listen to all points of view while navigating the complexities of publishing and supply chain challenges.

Walter Mosley
Photo by Marcia Wilson

The Industry Champion Award, which honors an individual whose efforts have advanced the publishing industry as a whole, will be given to Walter Mosley. Best known as the award-winning author of more than sixty works of fiction and nonfiction, including the bestselling series featuring private detective Easy Rawlins, he is also the founder of the Publishing Certificate Program at the City University of New York. His efforts to broaden participation in the industry­—particularly by writers of color—led BISG’s board to select Mosley for this honor.

Scribd logo

Scribd has been named the 2024 recipient of the Industry Innovator Award, which recognizes an organization or individual who boldly reimagines what publishing is and can be. Since its founding in 2007, Scribd has deftly evolved from a digital platform for hosting and sharing files, to a branded reader, to a global subscription business with more than 1 million customers. Born digital, Scribd has consistently participated with BISG and other partners in the industry on matters of digital content, including standards for taxonomy and communication, in order to serve consumers, creators, publishers, and others in the supply chain.

BISG Executive Director Brian O’Leary said, “This year’s award honorees were chosen for their creativity and lasting contributions to the industry. They also embody a certain generosity of spirit that has strengthened the book industry. Each recipient has worked to improve not just their own situation, but also to make lasting changes that benefit others.”

Registration for the meeting is open now, with a current agenda available on the BISG website.

Thank you to our sponsors

Bowker logo